So I was all like, ‘Yeah! I’m going to make and sell Origami Cranes on Etsy!’

Posted on 12.06.2017

2


Cause I know how to do that!

And that would be a fun thing to do!

And I could make beautiful things for the people!

… and then I went to Etsy and had a look to see if people were already doing that, and they are. And they are doing it for much, much cheaper than I would.

And they are making beautiful, artistic things. And their cranes have already been made and now they’re just selling them. And those prices are really low compared to what I was thinking.

I wonder how often this happens to people, that they have a great idea that they think *might* be original and welcomed by the masses, and then they go online and see that no, they are not original and this is already being done and it’s done better than you can do it and for way cheaper.

I mean, this is absolutely something I learned at Art College. But I forgot. It’s been a while.

Oh, Mark Twain. You were right.

There is no such thing as a new idea. It is impossible. We simply take a lot of old ideas and put them into a sort of mental kaleidoscope. We give them a turn and they make new and curious combinations. We keep on turning and making new combinations indefinitely; but they are the same old pieces of colored glass that have been in use through all the ages.”

Posted in: 0rigami