March 4: Stories of Your Life and Others

Posted on 09.03.2017

0


06. Stories of Your Life and OthersTed Chiang (March 4)
Remember that time when I wrote that I get impatient for movies to come out, so I go and read the book? Here’s another example of that. I was DYING to see Arrival. And it’s still not coming out here in Japan until MAY. MAY. I wrote that in the past tense because I WAS dying to see it, but as it released last year in the US, I was able to rent it on iTunes (USA) last week. So, crisis averted, for now.

I’m still going to go see it on the big screen when it comes out. I have a feeling that the movie will sound excellent.

I’ve been in the mood for some new short stories (Neil Gaiman has been busy working on American Gods and writing Norse Mythology), and when I found out that Arrival was based on a short story called Story of Your Life by Ted Chiang, I went out and bought the book (which now has a cover with a shot from Arrival on it and was harder to find than I imagined it would be).

It was an excellent collection of short stories. Sad, humorous, a tad worrying at times. It reminded me of a much nicer and calmer set of stories that could be attached to the Black Mirror series.

I’m a big fan of scifi, dystopia and the almost immediate future. So these were a good fit for me. A favorite would be hard to choose, but there were a few with messages that really stood out:
Story of Your Life (just the grammar choices used to show WHEN something will happen/is happening is great on its own!)
Hell is the Absence of God
Liking What You See: A Documentary
Tower of Babylon

…so, half of them. The others were also good. But I liked the things I was forced to think about with these the most.

Posted in: books, reviews