Feb 16: The God of Small Things

Posted on 09.03.2017

0


03. The God of Small ThingsArundhati Roy (Feb 16)
I most certainly did NOT read this entire book in one day while on my honeymoon. I had this one as an actual book and had been reading it for some time, while we listened to The Girl With All the Gifts together.

I mentioned earlier that I had found a way to distract myself when feeling anxious and unable to sleep late at night: this is how I figured it out. On night like TWO of the honeymoon, I couldn’t get to sleep. Too many ways to die to imagine! So I grabbed the book and my head torch and read until I couldn’t anymore. And then I fell asleep.

This book has got to be the most beautifully written book that I’ve read in a very long time. So long, in fact, that I can’t even recall what the last most beautiful book might have been.

Mark recommended it to me when we were in a bookshop in the UK in January ’16, and then we bought it when we went back to the same bookshop in October ’16. I picked it up as soon as I finished with the Martian Chronicles, but it was hard to find the time to read it while I was working so much.

The story addresses India’s Love Laws, the Caste system, Communism and religion. AND BETRAYAL. And it is gorgeous. A joy to read. It felt like swimming. It was so good. Art. It’s easy to see why it won the Booker Prize.

