Feb 15: The Girl With All the Gifts

Posted on 09.03.2017

0


02. The Girl With All the Gifts, M.R. Carey (Feb 15)
Mark and I actually listened to this together on our honeymoon. There was this massive debacle that came about with iTunes: his account is UK and mine is US, and since we had bought something on his UK account, none of my US purchases were working. So, no movies for us.

Instead, every night when it started to get dark (which was actually pretty late, around 9pm) or while we were driving long distances during the day, we put on an Audiobook. We love each other, but when you drive for 4-5 hours each day, you will eventually run out of things to talk about. That’s fine. It’s normal.

So this was the first book up, chosen by me. When there’s a movie coming and I’m having trouble biding my time, the book happens (you’ll see this a bit further down the list later as well). We listened to this over the course of 4 days.

I’m a fan of the Zombie Apocalypse survival genre, and this one seems to fall in line with a few of the others: child has something like antidote, must consider if keeping child alive is best option. I guess maybe we might BOTH be fans of this, actually.

I’m not going to spoil it for anyone who hasn’t read it or seen it (in the US, as it won’t be here for MONTHS), but the ending is a bit of a downer and I have a strong feeling that the movie isn’t going to end in exactly the same way.

That being said, it’s a good story and was worth the listen. There were a few parts that were pretty predictable, but overall it flowed well and the story went into some new territory in the Zombie Apocalypse genre. One word: fungus.

I don’t think that gives too much away, and I don’t think I would have imagined where it was going if I’d heard that before. But, what, in 28 Days Later and the Walking Dead, it’s a disease or something, right? We’ve seen that one before. So I guess that makes this story different!

Oh, and it has zombie kids.

Posted in: books, reviews