Dec 20: The Girl With the Lower Back Tattoo

Posted on 08.03.2017

0


14. The Girl With the Lower Back Tattoo, Amy Schumer, December 20
THIS is exactly how far behind I am with my blogs. I finished this book in DECEMBER and am posting about it in March. I have excuses. It doesn’t really matter.

There was a lot of commotion when this book came out. How much of it was true, and how much of it was written to be entertaining or to prove a point? Amy caught shit for writing about how she lost her virginity by being raped as she slept by someone she trusted. She also caught shit for her Long Island childhood and being born/starting off life well-off. There are plenty of reasons to give a female writer shit, and Amy caught a lot of it when the book came out.

I found it well-written, not trying too hard, and highly relatable. This might have to do with the fact that Amy and I are a few months apart in age and were basically neighbors during our college years. And possibly on Long Island, before my family moved. I understood a lot of her experiences and how she wrote them, how she felt in certain situations, and especially the part about her father having MS. Me and my lower back tattoo can totally relate to that one.

I was already a fan before the book, and still am. It was easy to get through and having her read it herself on an audiobook felt a lot like just listening to your friend tell you stories.

I’m not sure what all of the commotion was about. But maybe I’m just used to reading memoirs at this point?

Posted in: books, reviews