Book 13: The Little Prince, October 29

Posted on 07.12.2016

0


the-little-prince13. The Little Prince, Antoine de Saint-Exupery, October 29
I’ve never read this book before, even though I knew enough about it. How can anyone not? I think it might be one of the most popular books for children in existence.

But still, I found it at a book store for a very, very low price, so I picked it up. I’m glad I did.

It’s a sweet story written from the POV of a man (a pilot) who is stranded in the desert when he meets the little prince, who has traveled a long way to be in that place. He tells the story of the prince’s travels and his eventual trip ‘back to his planet’.

It’s a lovely way to talk about loss, and loneliness, and friendship. The ending was of course sad, and we can all hope that in the end the prince actually did get to go back to his tiny planet.

img_5137I’ve been really interested in reading others’ ideas on death and what happens when we die, and I think Saint-Exupery wrote the end scene in an open way.

While I was reading it, I went out to dinner with my friend and her two daughters. I showed the book to the older daughter (who is now 6) and she drew this for me. She didn’t even look at my book for reference, as I’d put it back in my bag and had no idea what she was doing.

I think she’s seen the movie.

So I used this as the bookmark for the book.

So sweet. And a nice story that I’ll definitely be reading to my children one day:)

Posted in: books, reviews