Added to the Music (continued) page: David Bowie

Posted on 23.10.2016

0


david-bowie-blackstar-2016-billboard-100047. David Bowie, Blackstar (2016)
Again, because of course. I’m not late to the game, just seriously back-logged with music. There are SO MANY good albums to talk about right now! There isn’t enough time in the day.

So Blackstar came out and then David died and we cried for days. We listened to it non-stop for a few days, and then I would get sad every time I heard it, so I had to put it down for a little bit. It still makes me sad to listen, since it’s clear from the lyrics he was preparing to die, but I appreciate this last gift he left us (along with a musical featuring the songs) and think it’s one of his best works.

The album deserves to be listened to loud, on great speakers or headphones. There’s so much going on in each of the songs and you need to hear it. Lazarus is easily one of my new favorite songs, even though it still makes me sad. David Bowie was so present, so absolutely aware of his life and how much time he had left, and he still managed to make this wonderful music. I’m thankful I got to see him in Baltimore on the Heathen tour, and sad beyond belief that I never got to see him perform again.

 

 

Posted in: music, reviews