Book 8: Are you my Mother? (June 8)

Posted on 01.07.2016

0


8. Are you my Mother?, Alison Bechdel, June 8
Trust me, I HAVE been doing things. Lots of things, actually, which is why I’ve been MIA lately.

Mark’s sister Clare bought this for me for Christmas, and I was really excited about it. I’m a fan of Alison Bechdel, and love her writing style. So to come across this graphic novel in the book store one terrible, freezing night when I was feeling amazingly sick was great!

I tried a lot of times to finish it, but just never got around to it. Too many things to do. But finally, on the plane back to the US last month, I had all the time in the world. 12 hours, in fact, and I have trouble sleeping on planes, so I brought it.

I had 2 reasons for bringing it to the states with me actually, one: to read it and finish it, and 2: to promptly put it in my storage space with the other books I was bringing back. It’s not that I don’t love it and plan to share it with people, but we’re already talking about the next place we’re going to live, which will be on a different continent, so I’m trying to lighten the load for the inevitable shipping containers. So, the book had to go in once I was done with it. As did all of the other books we don’t plan to read again for a while.

I had a lot of issues growing up with my mother, so I was interested to read about Alison’s own issues. It’s one of those things: you think everyone else has these perfect lives and you’re the only one with parental problems. We all figure it out eventually, but I was still curious to read this, to see if I could empathize with her.

I could, and I did, and it was helpful for me as well. Which is kind of what I was hoping for.

This book isn’t for everyone, but if you happen to be a woman or even just a sibling and have a strained, different relationship with mom, then check it out.

Posted in: books, reviews