In Japan, little old ladies dye their hair anime colors.

Posted on 21.05.2016

0


One day last year, I was on the train on my way home. I was sitting down, and a little old lady got onto the train. She didn’t try to find a seat, but rather walked in and stood by the door, looking out the window. She had her back to me.

not my photo

not my photo

Her hair was a dark purple. And very thin. I think because it was thin, I noticed the color. Had her hair been thicker, it would have just appeared jet black. But because I could see her scalp, it was clearly purple. I thought to myself ‘it’s sad when they dye it at home and get the wrong effect’.

I went on thinking this for a while, until I saw another old woman, also on a train, whose hair was bright, vibrant blue.

It is, apparently, a THING.

I finally asked a Japanese friend about it after that, and she informed me that this is something that’s become quite popular with the older set. This is for a few reasons, which are:

  1. Obviously dying your hair wasn’t popular or even a thought 50 years ago.
  2. Even now, many companies still have women’s hair color in their dress code: it must only be natural colors.
  3. If you are a Japanese woman and want to dye your hair, it’s going to take up to three bleaches to get your hair light enough to accept any other color. So most don’t do it.

So being older, retired and having grey hair, which is therefore really light, they’ve got free reign to do whatever the hell they want.

I really can’t wait to be old. And have grey hair. I am going to dye that shit bright effing pink.

I am going to have so much fun with my hair when it’s grey on its own.

For now, I’m stuck trying out different ways to get my bleached blonde ends to stay grey for longer than a week, or a wash.