Being green: stop buying pens

Posted on 15.05.2016

0


And start buying ink refills.

Japan is the king of wasteful wrapping. They waste so much plastic on everything, from giving me a plastic bag when I don’t need it to needing to wrap every pastry in the store in 2 or 3 layers of it. Maybe it’s for cleanliness?

As a teacher, the most wasteful things I do are:
~ use way more paper than I need to (this is not because I want to, this is because the clients will complain if you don’t give them ‘enough’ notes)
~ go through pens like it’s my job. This is because here, at this company, the students don’t write their own notes. It’s our job to write the notes for them. Which means I’m literally writing all day, and going through pens (and paper) like crazy.

It’s so wrong on so many levels, I don’t even want to talk about it.

It sounds so simple, but it’s something a lot of us never think about: when your pen is out, buy ink refills. They sell them at the shops right next to the actual pens, and they’re way cheaper.

It’s a huge waste of plastic to just throw away the pen body and buy a new one, and it also wastes so much money.

So find a pen that you really like and really enjoy using, and buy refills when it runs out.

Why do I have to write this, when it’s so simple? Because it took me 2 years to find the refills at my shop.