Added to the Music (continued) page: Caribou

Posted on 04.05.2016

0


44. Caribou, Our Love (2014)
I was a little behind on this one, and picked it up before we went to Hostess Club Weekender in February last year. So we were slightly behind on checking out the new album, but not my much since it was released at the end of 2014. Fine.

I’d heard Caribou before, as there have been earlier releases, but I guess I just wasn’t that into it at the time. This one came at the right time. I think for all albums, bands, genres, there might be a time and place. When I was younger (and much angrier) I was so into Garbage and Nine Inch Nails. I still love them now and enjoy listening to those albums from my youth, but I don’t feel the same anymore. Even if the albums bring it back, it’s not the same.

So I imagine that back in 2010 or 2005 or whenever Caribou put something out, it wasn’t my time. But this one was right. We listened to it a few times in a row, the album is so good. It just flows well. It’s mostly instrumental and electronic, with pretty sparse vocals laid over. It’s easy music for a weekend. But it’s not like Enya easy-listening. It’s chill.

It reminds me a LOT of Burial, actually. So if you happen to like Burial or maybe even How to Dress Well, I might recommend this one.

Tagged: ,
Posted in: music, reviews