Added to the Music (continued) page: Santigold

Posted on 28.04.2016

0


santigold-master-of-my-make-believe-cover41. Santigold, Master of My Make-Believe (2012)
Yeah, it’s 2016 and I’m late in posting this, but this is ANOTHER album that lives on my iPhone for whenever Mark wants to listen to Spotify. It was a hit when it came out, and it’s still great listening 4 years later. Not much has changed in the world of music, minus whatever Beyonce is doing and Gaga basically disappearing. And Santigold is off somewhere, but maybe not coming to Tokyo for a tour anytime soon, sadly. Oh hey, and PJ Harvey released a new one! More on that later:)

I’m not sure there’s a bad or boring song on the album, but favorites are GO!, Disparate Youth, Freak Like Me, This Isn’t Our Parade, and Look at These Hoes (of course, that’s on the running list). Santigold came out with the help of MIA and at the time, a lot of people commented that their sounds were similar. I think with time, they’ve definitely grown more apart in their sounds, although I guess lyrically they’re still talking about a lot of the same things. Which isn’t a bad thing.We need more empowered women taking the microphone than love-sick little girls complaining about Disney not being real.

Loved the first album, and I think I love this one more. Maybe it flows from song to song better?

Posted in: music, reviews