Added to the music page: Alpine

Posted on 22.04.2016

0


38. Alpine, Yuck (2015)
It’s getting to the point where I don’t even know anymore. I don’t remember where I heard about Alpine or who told me about them. But they’re one of the many bands (albums) saved to my Spotify account, which means I WANTED to check them out at some point. I’m just hearing about different bands from too many different places.

But this one is at the top of the list, so I always see it first when I go to it. I’ve listened to it a few times and liked it enough to keep it ON the list, so there’s that.

Alpine hails from Australia and has put out a few other things prior to this. I guess this means, since I saved their 2015 album, that I heard about them from somewhere pretty recently, as this album is their newest. Had I heard about them earlier, I might have saved their previous full-length release, A is for Alpine.

Phoebe’s voice is soft and airy, and sounds a bit like Joanna Newsom at times (the earlier, higher-pitched Joanna Newsom). That’s not a bad thing. It’s a great thing. She also reminds me of the lead singer of Flunk, who we haven’t heard from in a while.

The music is classified on iTunes as alternative, but I’m not sure it fits into that category. But really, maybe I just assume everyone is electronic these days. Up for Air and Foolish are really nice tracks, although I don’t like ALL of the lyrics in Come On. Aside from my issue with the lyrics in that song, everything else sounds pretty solid. I highly recommend!

Tagged: ,
Posted in: music, reviews