Book 6: Play it as it Lays (March 21)

Posted on 25.03.2016

0


playitasitlays6. Play it as it Lays, Joan Didion, March 21
In my quest to read more good writing by female authors, Mark recommended this one to me. I didn’t really know what to expect, but I actually really enjoyed it.

At first, I thought we were supposed to sympathize with our main character. Halfway through, I was tired of listening to her low-level complaining. By the end of the book, I just felt bad for her, in general. I guess we’ve all known people who will never be happy, and don’t know what they want, and hang out with shitty people. This was like reading your friend as she slowly deteriorated.

The writing style was nice. Sparse, to the point, and easy to follow. I really felt like I was reading Maria’s thoughts. And I felt like I could understand, because I think I’ve been in a similar situation and relationship to her.

It’s worth a read. And it’s not too long, so it’s really fast to get through.

Posted in: books, reviews