Book 2: Mrs Dalloway, Jan 23

Posted on 09.02.2016

0


51z9FsghajL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_02. Mrs DallowayVirginia Woolf (Jan 23)
This is one of those stories that everyone is supposed to read. Generally, I try very hard to read them whenever I can, since it’s important to read the classics or important works of literature. So of course, I read this one.

I understand WHY this story is important to the field of literature, women in literature, female authors, history, etc. I totally understand. But that doesn’t change how I feel about the story overall.

I was completely bored by it. I found it easy to relate to all of the characters and had a perfect, vivid image of their daily lives and thoughts. I just wasn’t interested in the story.

I think my disinterest was based largely on the fact that I can’t stand when people over think things, and this was an entire book spent mostly inside the heads of different people. The major characters over thought just about everything, and the time spent with the outer characters was actually more interesting, since it was fleeting.

Half of the time, my reaction to what was being thought or going on in the story was ‘jebus, man, GET OVER IT!’ since so many of the thoughts passing through were about past events. This is your life, this is what you’ve made of it, deal with it. Maybe I’m too grounded for this type of novel. Maybe I just can’t be bothered. I’m not sure exactly what my problem is. The writing style was interesting and it took some actual work to follow what was going on, who was doing the thinking (remembering), and the physical location of each person/part of the story. That was what kept me awake and alert. But the fact that just about everyone was thinking about other people completely repelled me.

This is what I get for not really caring about what other people think. I had trouble engaging with this story.

Again: I think it’s a book that is important and SHOULD be read. I just didn’t really enjoy it. There are definitely books I have enjoyed less, but I’m not planning on re-reading this one any time soon.

Posted in: books, reviews