you can’t buy snow boots in Japan.

Posted on 20.01.2016

0


n-weather-b-20160119-870x616I mean, you CAN, if you look really hard and want to buy boots to go skiing or snowboarding in. And I’m sure that you can buy snow boots if you live somewhere in Hokkaido, since snow is their THING.

But down here with most of the population, in the crowded metropolis of Tokyo, snow boots are not so common.

This is probably because SNOW itself isn’t so common. I’m going to England at the end of January, so I’ve been watching the weather between here and there, as well as NYC and Baltimore, just for fun. Japan is easily the warmest place to be, even though it feels ridiculously cold since our houses are basically built of sticks that let all of that cold air in. It just doesn’t snow that much in Tokyo.

I actually learned this lesson 2 years ago, but I am just writing about it now. Maybe I wrote about it earlier, but I can’t remember. So I’m doing this. Maybe again.

The photo I’ve included is not my own, but from a popular Japanese English news site. The kids in this picture are not odd or strange, this is the norm: rain boots and an umbrella in the snow.

I’m really not sure why anyone needs an umbrella, since we all have hoods and hats, but that’s the thing here. As are the rain boots.

I guess overall, it’s the more utilitarian approach: we have 2 rainy seasons in which we get a LOT of rain, and then a winter season where we might see snow 2 or 3 times, tops. Our first snow came in the middle of January.

So all through the winter, all through the year actually, you can buy some amazing rain boots. But none for snow. Yes, there are cute, warm boots you can buy, but they’re not for getting wet! No no, they are for keeping your feet warm in the cold weather and looking cute!

PSA: If you plan on moving to Japan and feel that snow boots are important for the 3-4 times you’ll need them in a year, then bring your own. Because if you wait to buy them here, you will be buying rain boots. And many pairs of warm socks to go with them.