Added to the music page: Five Knives, Savages

Posted on 03.07.2015

0


unnamed234. Five Knives, Savages (2015)
Holy shit, what a gd excellent album.

I’m not sure where I heard about Five Knives. I do this thing where whenever someone or some article mentions a band I might like, I go to Spotify, save the album, and then listen to it later when I have the time. I know that Five Knives was added recently, but I can’t remember if it was a friend or an article that mentioned them to me.

If you like Sleigh Bells or the Sounds, and like strong female vocals, check the album out. They’re from Nashville, of all places, and sound so incredibly high-energy, I think they’re on my list of ‘must please see live’ bands for the future. They only appear to be doing things like Warped Tour at the moment, so I guess I’ll have to hope they’ll come to Tokyo, or try to catch them when I’m back in the US. Adding them to my Songkick tracked list… now.

I’ve listened to the album straight through and around again no less than 10 times in the past 2 weeks, mostly on my commute to and from work. They’re the right kind of ‘going to fuck things up’, ‘get it on’ music I need to listen to before I go into my office and turn into a machine. Their lyrics might be a little ‘in my 20’s’, but they’re not bad, or bullshit at all. Take My Picture, I Love You to Death and Criminal are perfect Maneaters material. Criminal is a perfect opener to the album before it speeds up and gets out of control. Rattatat is very MIA in the lyrics, but feels more like it came from Sleigh Bells. Female empowerment all over the damn place.

I’ll definitely be purchasing, once I’m home. Highly recommend.

Posted in: music, reviews