I tried: Sukin Organics

Posted on 04.06.2015

0


72_pic2 17_pic2 20_pic2I meant to post this a while ago, but kept forgetting, because I didn’t set the blog and photos up for it before leaving the house (or shower) each day.

While we were in Australia on vacation, we spent a few days with our friend Daniel in Melbourne. Daniel lived in a house with some housemates, so when we used his shower, we got to see a LOT of bath products.

I would never surreptitiously use someone’s shower stuff without expressly asking first, but I did read the bottles. Sukin was one of the brands they seemed to have a lot of, and the bottle says things like ‘vegan’ and ‘cruelty free’, so you know I was interested.

After our 2.5 weeks of camping were up, we had two more nights in Sydney. We got into the hotel and unpacked all of our stuff, and there in the bathroom was a selection of Sukin bath products: Shampoo, Conditioner and Body Wash.

So I brought them home with us to try them out against my normal water, rather than with the water in Sydney, which I have no idea about. At home, the Sukin products pass the ‘vegan test’: a little thin, great smell, but I needed a lot to use them properly.

The shampoo and conditioner were both nice, but for me, nothing to really write home about. But great that they exist, smell great, and are getting used in pricey hotels in fancy Sydney. I liked the way they smelled, but I needed too much of it for one cover of my hair, and it’s a lot shorter now than it was while I was on vacation. The body wash, however, smelled great and had a nice lather to it. Not too much, not an annoyingly minimal amount, but just right.

I’m not sure if you can get these products here in Japan or over in the states, but if you happen to be vacationing in Australia and want a decent vegan shampoo and conditioner (because seriously, I NEVER carry that stuff with me on vacation anymore, I just prefer to buy at the destination), then I would recommend this. It’s just enough. And friendly!

Also, they were selling buckets of it at the airport, so I imagine it’s easy to pick up as a gift on the way out.

Tagged: