Thanks, Paul Mitchell!

Posted on 03.06.2015

0


I’ve been using Paul Mitchell off and on since I was young. My mother was a cosmetologist and used to work in a salon, and one of the first was a Paul Mitchell salon. All of our hair products were Paul Mitchell then, and even afterward when she started working from home, she continued to buy them.

I didn’t really know much about them at the time, and it was only recently I learned that PM is cruelty-free, and has been for a long time.

So I was at my hairdresser a few weeks ago, and noticed that whatever shampoo they were using to wash my hair smelled AMAZING. Once I got back into the chair, I asked what it was. They had a wall of products, and three or four different types of shampoo and conditioner sitting next to the wash station, so I had to ask.

tumblr_m2s9l8kJdU1qcj6t8Apparently my hairdresser (Risa, she is excellent) chose to use the Paul Mitchell Awapuhi line on me, since I told her I usually use a moisture shampoo. I was excited about this, since I’d read that PM was cruelty-free and had wanted to try them, but hadn’t been able to find it anywhere.

Risa said that it’s not a brand that’s often sold in normal stores, and I might have to go back to them, or to any salon, in order to buy the products.

This is ‘wild ginger’ scent and as I said, it smells GREAT.

As far as cruelty-free products go, this one feels like it may not be all-natural, since the spread of both the shampoo and conditioner are really smooth. That’s not a bad thing, and it’s suggesting that other products from other companies are bad, it’s just an observation. I needed far, far less of the shampoo AND the conditioner than I normally do using other brands. Also, the build-up is less from these than from the others I’ve been using regularly. So I might have found a new, slightly-more-expensive-than-my-previous-favorite favorite. I’m ok with that, if it eliminates the scaling/build-up that I”ve been dealing with since I got here (seriously, WHAT is in the water??).

Also, it makes my hair really shiny. Win!