Book 11: The Hundred-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out the Window and Disappeared (April 10)

Posted on 23.04.2015

0


The-100-Year-Old-Man11. The Hundred-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out the Window and Disappeared, Jonas Jonasson (April 10)
I know I’m a little late in posting this, but as I was off the grid for the better part of a month and only just got back, I don’t necessarily feel bad about it.

My plan for vacation was to try to read a book each week. I will say now that I achieved that goal, but it wasn’t in the way I’d expected. For some reason, I thought I’d actually have time to, or feel like, reading. Thankfully though, I spent just about all of my time ‘experiencing’, and really didn’t have any spare time to read. I was knocked out just about every night after dark, thanks to our daylight schedule while camping.

So two of my three completed books ended up being audiobooks. What made it even better was that I listened to them while driving long distances with my boyfriend. So we got to experience these two together, and have nearly the exact same experience of these two books.

We listened to this book as we drove through Tasmania. You’d think that we’d want to spend those hours talking, and we actually stopped the story many times to have unrelated conversations. But as we both enjoy audiobooks and have lived together for over 2 years now, we’re ok with NOT talking sometimes:)

This story has been on my list since we lived in Germany. I remember when it came out. I was living in Wuerzburg and it got a LOT of media attention. I saw it on the shelf and in the feature space in the English section of my local Hugendubel store, but always ended up buying something else. But when I saw it on a list on Audible, I thought it might be good to listen to, since I was clearly never going to buy the actual book.

Steven Crossley narrates the story, and to tell you the truth, his voice made an already amusing book more enjoyable. He reminds me a bit of Steven Fry, who was the Book, and narrator in The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy’. They may not sound exactly the same, but the way they speak makes me put them in the same category.

The story itself was sweet: lighthearted and fun, and often poking fun at itself. It was a bit of a mix between Forrest Gump and Hitchhiker’s Guide, actually, in the storyline and telling of events. Our protagonist seemed to be everywhere and having a small influence on everything, without really knowing what he was doing. He reminded me a lot of my boyfriend’s dad, actually, in the way he talked to strangers and never quite seemed to know everything that was going on.

It’s no wonder the story got so much attention. It was an easy read (listen), full of (odd) action, and had a happy ending. What more does anyone want?

Posted in: books, reviews