Book 2: Slaughterhouse Five (Jan 18)

Posted on 26.01.2015

0


slaughter-70249502. Slaughterhouse Five, Kurt Vonnegut (Jan 18)
I’d been meaning to read this one for a while, and so when I found it on sale and read by Ethan Hawke, I had to have it. I’m aware of the fact that the printed version comes with some nice sketches added to the story, so I’m going to have to keep my eyes open for that.

I think this was the perfect book to read after 2001, since both deal with space travel and time. Clearly, they’re discussing different things, but I think that if I had picked this story up BEFORE reading 2001, I might have had some trouble wrapping my head around the ideas of space and time travel in the book. They weren’t difficult or hard to understand, but it might have taken a split second longer to sink in.

This is by far one of the better books I’ve read recently, and I do think I might recommend it to anyone who wasn’t a low-level English learner. It’s written beautifully and realistically, and I like that in the end, you’re not sure where he is in time, what time it’s supposed to be, or whether or not he died, etc. I feel the need to go back and read the story again, and make myself a visual map of when he is time traveling, and what is ‘real time story’. Because I’m pretty sure Vonnegut makes it a point to confuse the reader, and I’m totally ok with that. I imagine, though, that someone has already done that, and a quick google search will pull that right up. I’ll have to search for that later.

I also appreciated the interview at the end, in which Vonnegut talks about how Billy Pilgrim was actually someone he knew in the war. It’s a book about war that doesn’t glorify it, not for a second. And it’s so much more contemplative about things than other ‘books about war’.

Just excellent. I’ll read it again one day.

Posted in: books, reviews