2015 Book 1: 2001: A Space Odyssey (Jan 8)

Posted on 10.01.2015

0


And so it goes. In 2014, I read (or listened to, more often than not) 39 stories. My goal for 2015 is to beat that, so I have to make it to 40 this year. While this still won’t match my first year, it’ll be a step in the right direction. I’m trying to make sure I read all of the news and emails I can when I wake up, so I’m more inclined to listen to something on my commute to work, which takes about 45 minutes each way. We’ll see how far into the year that goes on. I’ve got a 3 week vacation in Australia coming up in March, and have a feeling I’ll be doing a LOT of listening, since wifi may not always be readily available.

n30401. 2001: A Space Odyssey, Arthur C Clarke (Jan 8)
I really feel like I MUST have seen the movie at some point, although I can’t remember when. I knew the storyline, and I knew what was going to happen, although I can’t recall why.

This audiobook had an excellent introduction from the author at the  beginning, and it was great to hear about how they wrote the book AND the script for the movie at the same time. Of course, now I’ll have to go back and watch the movie again, even though I swear I’ve seen it.

The story is amazing. For not being TOO long, it kept me wanting to get back to it anytime I had to put it down. It was really engaging and gripping, even if it was all told from the third person. Excellently written, and no, I don’t think it explained TOO much, as some have complained. I think it was just the right amount of explanation for a scifi story.

It’s interesting to think that this story was written before anyone had actually made it to the moon. I actually really enjoyed the descriptions of space, Jupiter, Saturn and its rings very much, and it’s nice to think that these were just completely made up (albeit, researched to the nth degree, I’m sure).

Honestly, such a good story, and a great way to start of 2015. I hope I can keep choosing great stories this year:)

Posted in: books, reviews