Book 38: Beowulf (Dec 23)

Posted on 08.01.2015

0


beowulf-heaney38. BeowulfUnknown (Dec 23)
I’d been meaning to read this again for a while, and somehow stumbled upon it while scrolling through many, many titles on Audible during the annul winter or holiday sale. It was good timing, too, since I’d just finished tearing through 2 seasons of Vikings and was kind of already in that mindset.

So I grabbed it, and gave it a listen, since the last time I read it, I was probably 14 or 15 years old. I have to say, I think I remember it being much more exciting or interesting then, but that’s not necessarily a bad thing. It IS, though, influencing my thoughts on whether or not to go back and re-read the Illiad and Odyssey. Maybe I’ll hold off on them for a bit longer, even though I KNOW I can get them for free now on iTunes. Awesome, that is.

Beowulf is a good story, but I’m not sure I can imagine, in my not-trained-to-teach-young-people mind, why this story is quite so relevant or required for teen-aged readers? I think I must have gotten a LOT more out of it this time around than last time, and am not sure I’d suggest this over other short stories or long poems. Historical context, maybe? I think it might be easier to hand out now, as there are TV shows and movies about Vikings that could be tied into a curriculum. But then again, I don’t teach young people. So what do I know.

I appreciate that the translator was the one to read it, btw.

Tagged:
Posted in: books, reviews