Book 33: Blood Meridian (Nov 10)

Posted on 12.11.2014

0


518aJh03fdL33. Blood Meridian, Cormac McCarthy (Nov 10)
I read this story at the suggestion of my boyfriend, who said it was one of the better works he’d read. I’m not sure I’d go so far as to say this is a favorite, or that I liked it better than The Road, but it was good.

McCarthy has a great way of describing things. He makes great sentences, I guess I’d say. I spend a lot of time these past few years listening to and reading the sentences of people trying to get better at English, and it just makes me appreciate great writing even more. This language of ours is a really nice one, when it’s used correctly.

It was a little difficult to read some of the scenes, since this story is full to the brim of (mostly) senseless violence, and I was glad to kind of tune out and skim over them. I don’t like to read and imagine things like that, since once I have an image in my head, it’s really hard to get rid of it. That being said, the underlying story of war, its influence and effect on the psyche, and the idea that ‘some people are just born this way’ is an interesting one, and it’s often hard to witness (if we can call it that, since we’re reading, rather than there in the moment) some stories where it seems that no good could possibly come from it, even from the beginning.

Where The Road had a lot of hope in a terribly hopeless situation in  it, Blood Meridian didn’t seem to have any hope at all. And that’s ok, it was still a good read.

Posted in: books, reviews