Book 30: Mark Twain’s Helpful Hints for Good Living, Oct 10

Posted on 11.10.2014

0


61-PCzZQLVL._SL500_AA300_PIaudible,BottomRight,13,73_AA300_30. Mark Twain’s Helpful Hints for Good Living, Mark Twain (Oct 10)
I did it, I reached 30! This is really not that big of a deal, but I’m working really hard to get past last year’s number, and I felt like I was having a slump for the past few weeks. I really love Mark Twain, but this book read like ‘curmudgeonly old man gets a book deal’. It wasn’t very long, so I pushed on through it, but I have to say that my earlier assertion seems to ring true: I shouldn’t read books written before 1950. This book has also left me wondering if I should bother to read his autobiography (part 1), as it was written in a semi-autobiographical manner and might be similar to his autobiography. If THAT book is 760 pages of what I just read, I’m not sure I can handle it. Has anyone read it? Want to let me know? Please and thanks. It’s currently sitting on my wishlist. I’ve got a LOT of great books to read on the list (or in the pile, actually), so I’m not going to dwell on having chosen 2 recently that I wasn’t in love with. It happens sometimes. HP Lovecraft is up next, and I never have any complaints for him (minus that ‘was a total racist’ part. But he didn’t write about that, thankfully).

Posted in: books, reviews