Book 22: The Color Purple, July 17

Posted on 24.07.2014

0


The-Color-Purple-n6wz2r22. The Color Purple, Alice Walker  (July 17)
Continuing the streak of ‘strong female voices’, I read this after Unorthodox.

I‘m not sure I’ve ever read a book that was so devastating, so quickly. In the first 10 minutes, you already know that this woman’s life (girl, at the beginning) is going to be rough.

I’d been meaning to read this for a while, and when it came up in my audible feed and was read BY the author, I knew I had to listen, instead. The book is written in a vernacular that might be hard for ESL students, but is, of course, easy if you’ve had any experience in the southern states.

What a great story. I’d definitely recommend it to anyone who wants to read American literature. This is absolutely a classic. The completely resigned voice of the author/protagonist in the story adds an extra level of sadness to the things that happen. She’s almost accepting of the things that happen to her or in her life, even if they are infuriating and make her angry at some points. What else could she do, anyway?

Posted in: books