Book 21: Unorthodox, July 14

Posted on 14.07.2014

2


Feldman-UNORTHODOX-jacket221. Unorthodox, Deborah Feldman  (July 14)
I finished this book at 2 in the morning, after a night of tossing, turning, and trying to get to sleep. I was going to save it for my commute tomorrow, but figured I’ve got enough audiobooks to hold me over for at least a few weeks.

I’d wanted to read this one for a while, and when it showed up in an Audible search, I grabbed it. As a person who chose to leave their own religion as a teen (I was baptized Roman Catholic), I enjoy reading other’s stories of their liberation, as well. I lived near a Hasidic community in Baltimore, and was always fascinated by how they could live in such a sheltered manner, so close to the rest of us.

I’m on a bit of a kick right now, I’ve got 2 more books that focus on women overcoming things, and just read Geisha before this. I think it’s what I need at the moment, as I’m trying to find me way in a new place where there are very interesting gender ideals, and a job that is literally pounding me to death.

I have to say… the voice that this book is written in is almost smug, almost twee. It’s the voice of a teenager who thinks she knows everything, and it’s slightly annoying, even as it tells a pretty harsh story. I think I may have a bit of a personal bias in this case, as I once dated a Jewish guy (even though  we were clearly not a good match) who turned around and almost immediately married a young, ultra-Jewish virgin after we split. I knew and liked the girl, and was almost afraid for her when I found out. The voice of this author sounds so much like her, that I think I was just retroactively afraid of the outcome.

All of that aside, it was a story I couldn’t stop listening to, and would even put on in my breaks between lessons at work, when I had nothing to do. I normally reserve the audiobooks for my commute, which is 45 minutes each way, but this one held my interest. I would definitely recommend it to anyone who enjoys coming of age/escape stories.

Posted in: books