Book 20: Memoirs of a Geisha, July 9

Posted on 09.07.2014

0


4b47e03ae7a02fbd872f0210.L20. Memoirs of a Geisha, Arthur Golden  (July 9)
My friend Tara mentioned this book when she came to visit me in June. She and her sister were going to do a night or two in Kyoto while they were here, and she said that she wanted to go to see some of the places that had been mentioned in the book, which she said was WAY better than the movie. I told her I’d liked the movie, and she told me I should really read the book.

This book is just over 17 hours long on audio, and was the longest in my audible library. I thought it might take me a while to finish, but as you can see from the dates between this and the last book, I clearly spend MUCH more time commuting to and from work than I expected.

So Tara was right, there was a LOT more in the book than in the movie, but I guess that’s always to be expected. It was an excellent and easy read, and I tore through it pretty quickly. Having already seen the movie (multiple times), I knew the general story and plot points, but there was an excess of extra information that really made the story … fuller. It was a fine movie, but there was a lot more in the book that I appreciated reading. Or, hearing, to be fair.

I find it funny that I thought THIS was a true story, and it wasn’t, while I read the last book thinking it was fictional, and it was, in fact, true. True-ish.

My ONLY complaint about the book is an audiobook one: the reader’s voice sounded almost like one of the computer voices on my mac: a little robotic, and also, it sounded like there must have been a lot of takes, because I could hear the spots that got edited in or out, or cut.

Otherwise, it was a good historical novel. That was not true.

Posted in: books, reviews