Book 19: The Men Who Stare at Goats, July 3

Posted on 09.07.2014

0


men who stare at goats19. The Men Who Stare at Goats, Jon Ronson (July 3)
I didn’t MEAN to take so long to read my next book, it’s just that I was going through a ‘listening to lots of new music’ binge for about a month, and I have to choose if I’m listening to music OR reading when I take the train, since I can’t do both if it’s NEW music. I’ll just be forced to listen to the lyrics, or not hear it at all.

So this month, I got back on the books, as I have a long list of audiobooks waiting for me on my iPhone. First up was this one, which I knew had been turned into a movie, but thought was a work of fiction.

I literally thought this book was fiction throughout the entire listen. It was kind of like the time I went to watch Prometheus without knowing it was supposed to be an Alien prequel…  It was only at the end of the book that I thought it MIGHT be a true story (or true reporting, more to the point), and went to have a look on Wikipedia. So this is apparently true, in the idea that all of this reporting and research actually happened, and it appears to not be a farce.

I can’t believe our military would think to try these types of things. But somehow, I’m completely unsurprised by it. Throughout the reading of the book, I kept thinking to myself that I liked what the author was doing, tying in all of these historical  events in to the story, kind of like they did in Forrest Gump. Then it turns out that these things actually might have been related in one way or another, and it just seems a bit… odd.

It was a good read, in hindsight, but now I feel the need to go back and read it again, not as a work of fiction, but as a historical report.

Posted in: books, reviews