Book 17: Laughable Loves, April 8

Posted on 30.05.2014

0


OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA17. Laughable Loves, Milan Kundera (April 8)

I added this book to my wish list AGES ago, when I read a random, short review about it while living in Germany. I can’t remember what about that review made me want to read the book, but it went on my list. Then, a month or two ago, I was in the Book Off in the ‘used English books’ section and found it, there, for about $2. So of course I grabbed it.

Honestly, I understand that a lot of people hail Kundera as a genius, but this sort of thing is NOT my bag, baby. I can’t quite put my finger on why, but I have a sneaking suspicion that it is:
1 – I just didn’t like the storytelling style
2 – the stories were predominantly about the male psyche as it pertains to sex and relationships
3 – the male psyche as he wrote it was just pretty narcissistic and a bit misogynistic

Or maybe all of the above?

I’m not quite sure. Either way, I am glad that I read it and would  have been mad at myself if I hadn’t. The first story was easily the most interesting to me personally, and I have no doubt in my mind that it was because of the female POV and nature of the story, which was that she pissed her boyfriend right the hell off.

 

Posted in: books