Book 16: Titus Andronicus, March 26

Posted on 30.05.2014

0


Titus-Andronicus16. Titus Andronicus, William Shakespeare  (March 26)

OF COURSE I had been looking forward to reading this, it has got to be my favorite Shakespearean play/tragedy, hands down. It was next on my list and leering at me from the bookshelf, I knew it was time. After I finished the Lovecraft story, I jumped right into it.

This has been BY FAR the easiest of his plays for me to read so far. I have a feeling that has a lot to do with the fact that I know the story already and didn’t have to strain to remember character’s names or relation to others. I would like to think, however, that it’s because I have read enough Shakespeare at this point to NOT need the notes on the opposite page anymore. Because that is ALSO happening, and that’s awesome.

There isn’t a lot that can be said about Shakespeare or this particular play that hasn’t been said already, but I will say that reading the written description of what happens when Lavinia is found was pretty heartbreaking, in a way that nothing I have read so far from the Bard has been. And that’s saying a lot. I was standing on the train on my way to work when I got to that part, and I literally had to stop reading and take a moment to process what I had just read. That doesn’t happen often, and when it does, it’s normally because something has surprised me (Gaiman gets me like this a lot). So for this to need reflection when I already knew it was coming was quite interesting, indeed.

As great a read as it is a film adaptation, although I have to say, I really love the Julie Taymor/Anthony Hopkins film of this.

Posted in: books