Book 15: The Horror at Red Hook, March 19

Posted on 30.05.2014

0


9781627555807_p0_v1_s260x42015. The Horror at Red Hook, HP Lovecraft (March 19)

I did this as a free audiobook, possibly courtesy of Audible. If it wasn’t free, it was definitely on deep discount, as I picked up a few at the same time. I’m definitely a fan of Lovecraft’s work, and this one seemed like a good ‘next story’ to read. Or in this case, listen to. I got through it relatively quickly actually, as my 45-minute each way commute to work allowed me a lot of time to listen, when I might otherwise just be staring at my phone like everyone else on the train.

The one thing I will say about Lovecraft, or how I feel about his writing, is that I wish he’d give us just a little bit more to satisfy our curiosity. I understand that what he leaves out or chooses NOT to write is a big part of what makes his style unique, but sometimes I just wish I had a bit more detail. Someone said to me once that a good book or movie is one that stays with you, that you think about after it’s over. I’ll agree with that, except in the case of Lovecraft, whose sole goal it seems is to keep you thinking about it long after it’s over.

That’s not to say I didn’t like the story, because I did. I will continue to read or listen to him as long as there are things to read. I just wish I could get a little more info!

Tagged:
Posted in: books