Book 14: Wicked: The Life and Times of the Wicked Witch of the West

Posted on 18.03.2014

2


wicked14. Wicked: The Life and Times of the Wicked Witch of the West, Gregory Maguire (March 10)
This story was arguably better than the original Wonderful Wizard of Oz story. I know it’s not fair to compare them, as they were written at different times by different authors, but this was actually enjoyable to read (listen to), whereas reading the other story felt like required reading in school.

I know that’s a bit harsh to say, but I felt like I HAD to read Wizard, because of how famous it had become as a movie and to see if the original story was followed when it got made into a movie. I’ve never seen the musical for Wicked, nor do I have any desire to (I really can’t stand musicals, Disney or live action), but I liked the story and the historical twist of this one. I also like how LITTLE time Dorothy was afforded in all of this, she is just one extra character on the sidelines of this very interesting life. Dorothy is just a story, Elfie is an entire life.

What a GD great idea to write this and give our favourite villain some substance. I loved the part when she was sending things out to MEET Dorothy, and they were getting slaughtered. Not because it was funny, but because it was such a great way to show our normal misconceptions about EVERYTHING in our daily lives. I also love the suggestion near the end that she may be related to the wizard… I won’t spoil it here.

I’d probably do this one again at a later date, it was that good. And I would actually read it next time, rather than listening to it. Although, it was nice to listen to. Better than Cricket for the commute, at least. SO much introspection. I loved it.

Posted in: books