#20, #21: on a short story rampage

Posted on 10.12.2013

0


pic71286c6e84ed97b@largeI’ve ended up on a bit of a short story rampage, thanks to a student of mine… It turns out that one of my students really loves the Dahl stories I’ve given him, and now we’re tearing through them. This has caused me to go back revisit some old favorites, but also to read more stories that I hadn’t gotten to yet. As I mentioned much earlier, since I counted HP Lovecraft’s shorts as stories in past years, I will certainly be counting the stories of Gaiman and Dahl as stories as well.

This is not just to beat last year’s number, although it will certainly allow me to do that:) Where possible, the stories are going to be grouped, as they are today:) I’ve got a lot to read now that the Kindle charger wire is in… but I am going to tear through all of these first so I have no choice but to use the Kindle when I fly:)

20. Beware of the DogRoald Dahl  (December 10)
This was not actually a story I had read before, but was one that my student, now fully interested in Dahl’s shorts, found and told me about. I went to find it and put it into a word doc for future use, and of course, I had to read it. I think I might be getting to the point where I know or understand Dahl’s formula, if it can be called that, and I knew immediately how it was going to end up. That didn’t make the story any less enjoyable. It was, after all, written by Dahl, who could probably write picking his nose to sound like an interesting experience.

neil-gaiman-a-calendar-of-tales121. A Calendar of Tales, Neil Gaiman (December 10)
I’ve actually had this sitting on my desktop to read since it came out, and I finally got around to it last night. As I was looking for short stories, there were a few from Neil I was looking for, for my student to read as well. I couldn’t find any of the ones I wanted, but I did come across a website with some of his stories that I haven’t read yet… so I’ll be reading those next (and maybe committing a few to MS Word for students later).

I liked the idea of the calendar when he did it, and all of the stories were enjoyable. I especially liked the one from November about burning things and then forgetting them, since forgetting, or at least  not remembering some things, has been on my mind a lot lately. A very strong contrast to a 17-year old me who never wanted to forget anything. I’m not sure we ever really forget anything, it just moves to take a place at the back until we need it again, which might end up being never.

Posted in: books