Book 19: The Wonderful Wizard of Oz, L. Frank Baum

Posted on 04.12.2013

0


s18419. The Wonderful Wizard of Oz, L. Frank Baum (December 4)
I got this as a free audiobook from audible. I have no idea why it was free, but took the free book since I’d never read it before. It’s been a while since I’ve seen the movie, but I figured the book might be an interesting read.

This story was read by Anne Hathaway, which I thought would be a good thing, but ended up being a ‘meh’ thing. I’m not sure how I feel about her reading style, or some of the voices she came up with. It didn’t ruin the story, but I think it might have been better when read by someone else. Who was not an actor or actress.

The story itself was excellent. I’d never read it before and only knew the movie, but I’ve been reading a lot of articles surrounding the book lately. America was a bit late for fairy tales, but this story is an American one. The discussion of books against their movies has come up quite a bit with some students, so I was interested in the idea of reading a book AFTER I’d seen the movie (much like I did for most of the Potter films)… so I went into this story and tried to pay attention to all of the ideas I’d heard mentioned.

I’ll say this: the movie leaves out a decent amount, but the book is written for young people. I think the movie was a happy medium, but I’m still glad I listened to the actual story:)

Posted in: books