I’m not one to use mascara often, but when I do, it should also be cruelty-free

Posted on 15.09.2013

0


I had been using an excellent, blue tube of Christian Dior that was a christmas gift (and I continued buying) until I realized that Christian Dior doesn’t get to have the PETA bunny on their label. That was bad.

14107-Page-Web-LovelyDoll-Mascara-01_ProduitSo while I was in Germany shopping for makeup with a friend, she turned me on to Astor. She’s against animal cruelty as well, and mentioned that Astor is really against animal testing. I think she does her research very well, so I trusted her and bought a tube.

I’m not one to use mascara often, as my lashes are already pretty thick AND dark, but I figured it would be good to at least try it out and keep it on hand, in case.

So I went with this one, which is called Big & Beautiful Lovelydoll. I was definitely sold on the pink tube. 🙂 It’s got a plastic brush with a ball end (really, I have no idea what this is supposed to do, as it hasn’t made any interesting shapes on my lashes yet) and overall, seems to do exactly what mascara should do, which is make the lashes darker and clump them up a bit.

Honestly, I have YET to find a mascara that truly separates lashes, but this one does well enough if you have the patience to really start at the base and work upwards, maybe more than once. Also of note is how waterproof it is: I have gone swimming and taken numerous showers with this on my lashes, and haven’t had streaks once. That is winning in my book, when we’re discussing mascara.

Also, they published this near-book on their website, regarding animal testing:

Screen Shot 2013-08-25 at 16.55.59

They get a bit scary when you get down to the paragraph about ‘other countries’. I have to look into whether or not they are selling in China. It’s been hard to find that information online so far. I think I’m going to have to email them about that.

 

Tagged: ,