The Mamiya only needed a new part, and now I have two Mamiyas and three parts!

Posted on 30.08.2013

1


C330GridScreen-600x384I went on a bender after that last post about the Mamiya and its broken glass, and after all of my researching I realized that all I needed was a new focus screen. I was already in the process of buying the second camera, though, so I bit it and bought the camera anyway. It came with its OWN focus screen, just no lens. That’s fine.

I was sitting in England during all of this. I found a focus screen at B+H and had that shipped with the camera to my dad in Baltimore (my US address, since 2009), who must be experiencing some ridiculous deja vu over all of this. I found another focus screen on amazon.co.uk, and since I was in a rush, I bought that one as well and had it shipped to where I was staying.

I still wasn’t 100% sure that it was JUST a focus screen that was needed, so I really took a gamble. But afer looking at ALL of the camera manuals and anatomy/parts books, it seemed that it was only a focus screen and NOT a piece of ground glass that might be sitting UNDER it that was broken. I took a huge chance and spent about $200 on all of the parts, but as it turned out, my suspicion was correct. Now between the two cameras I have one extra focus screen, and it seems that they are easy enough to find at the moment, between amazon, ebay and B+H… so, yay?

The only issue was that there are about 6 different models of focus screen for the camera. I think mine was the C or B version, which is now VERY hard to find… so I ended up with one of this kind with the grid (F, I think) and then 2 A’s, which are close to my old one but not exactly the same. I will say though that the A’s might be easier to use than my B prism was, so there’s that at least:)

I took the Mamiya with us on our trip to the NORTH as a bit of a test for the new screen, and because I just couldn’t bear the thought of NOT taking it, and these first two rolls are by far the best I’ve ever shot on the camera! Chalk that up to experience or just being REALLY careful with it, but I’m really happy with these photos and will actually be listing a few of them on Etsy soon:)

Here are my favorites:

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

f/11 and f/16 never looked so good! I am so happy to have my camera back.

Posted in: art, my work, travel