I can say at least one thing with certainty: it is still too hot for me in Baltimore/DC.

Posted on 03.08.2013

0


This was something that had to be seen (and felt) to be believed, but as I’ve learned so many times, you can’t assume anything. So going back to the Baltimore/DC area for a summer was a great experiment, and I can safely say that nothing has changed.

After spending 3.5 years in the land of NO AC, the AC available everywhere in the states was a very welcome change. I had hoped it would be the deciding factor for me, but alas, I can’t say it is. While AC is a wonderful thing and definitely helps on the days when it’s too hot to even go outside, it seems that I might have an issue with pressure in the air, since even sitting around on a couch in very cool AC still leaves me worn out. Also, it appears that cooling a room might not be a great way to go about things, as it usually makes rooms TOO cold.

This was something that had to be seen to be believed, and regardless of the outcome, there was no way I was going to stay another season in Germany with how it made me feel. No place, AC or no, is nice when it hits 30 degrees. I was reminded of this when I got to Belgium. The high temps there were killer, just like they were in Germany. And no AC. Places I can’t (won’t) consider living, sadly.

DSCN8269sI DID learn that wind helps. I got to witness that firsthand, as I sat in England during the hottest week they’d seen in a long time, on a beach when it was 31 degrees outside. I had my bathing suit on, and my towel, but sitting on that windy beach, it occurred to me that I wasn’t even hot enough to warrant going in the water. So I didn’t. I lad on the beach, reading Henry VI and enjoying the breeze. The English people I was with couldn’t believe it, because they were practically dying from the heat. I just said, ‘I’m used to hotter, this is not hot enough for me to go in’, which must have sounded ludicrous. But honestly, they are mostly hot because they don’t have AC, because much like the Germans, they seem to believe they don’t need it. Thankfully, the Japanese seem to agree that wall fans are good investments. To me, the nice breeze kept me cool enough to NOT need to jump in the water. But I’m also from MD, which is at a similar latitude to Rome… so it gets a lot hotter (and a lot wetter) where I am from.

This doesn’t make the heat OK for me, it just means I am used to hotter temperatures. I don’t have to like them, and my MS doesn’t handle anything over 25 very well, although it has been proven that wind helps, as does a lower humidity.

With that in mind, I have turned my job search to focus on cooler places in the US. I am still job hunting in Asia, but whenever a city is mentioned, I google it first to check the climate before getting into discussions about it. Some places will be exceptions, like the Tokyo/Chiba area of Japan.

I heard something really interesting the other day, and it was nice to know I’m not alone. I heard that our teacher doesn’t even train in July, because it’s too hot for him. I appreciate that, as he already knows my condition, and if I end up training at his school, he’s already got the fans in place for me to use. Awesome to have that kind of support, even in other countries.

So the job search continues, with a little more knowledge of what I can and cannot handle. I’d hate to leave my people on the east coast, but it might happen before I can even really be able to come back.

Posted in: life, teaching