Book 23: Animal Farm

Posted on 28.11.2012

1


I totally read this book last year, but had to read it again for my Cultural Studies course. It’s honestly one of those books that I could probably read every year and never get tired of it.

It only took me today to read it, while I was in between bus trips and waiting for the coming rides. I had 2 hours between the train and the bus, and then an hour of lunch before a class began, and that was all it took. It’s such a quick and easy read, but I always get so much out of it.

Having already read it, this time I went through with more of an idea of who represented what, and what was coming, so I think I picked up more the second time around. I guess that’s the case with any book I will read, but in order to teach the course I had to research the teaching guides and discussion topics beforehand, and I think I got a lot more out of the book because of that, as well.

To discuss this book will be interesting, as it’s one that was banned in MULTIPLE countries for many different reasons. I’ll be focusing on why it was banned in American schools and where (and when, mostly!), rather than why in other countries.

I can’t wait.

Posted in: books