So, you’re not going to believe what I’ll be doing for the next few months…

Posted on 12.10.2012

2


Those of you that know what’s going on, know, but for those of you that don’t: I was planning to move back to the states this month, but then got an offer I couldn’t refuse to stay and finish out my teaching contracts. With that eventually came a re-offer for me to teach at the local university, where I’d interviewed a few months back.

I’m very excited to say I’ll be teaching a class this semester at the University: American Cultural Studies. During my interview, I mentioned how excellent I thought it would be to frame a cultural studies class around books that have been banned in the USA, since books that have been banned tend to address cultural issues in the country (race, religion, graphic violence/sex, drug use, etc).

To date, there is only ONE book that is banned in Germany, Mein Kampf. While this book is banned on a national level, the books in the states tend to be on a school-level, since banning books goes against our first amendment right to free speech. But that doesn’t stop parents from trying to pull books from school reading lists, which is where just about all of the action happens.

Most of you might remember that I’d made a goal to read as many of the banned books on the Banned Books lists as I could, and I’m happy to say that because of this, and thanks to the Uni’s approval, this is exactly what I’ll be doing, starting at the end of this month!

The semester directly coincides with my contracts through my teaching job, and the class I’m teaching sits right in the middle of my free time, so everything will happen and end at about the same time. I’m super excited to be able to do this here, in Germany, and I can’t wait to start teaching in a few weeks!

I’ve got Paradise and The Perks of Being a Wallflower on the table, and plan to read them this week, to decide if I’ll use them in the course or not. I’ve got a list of about 20 books that I have to narrow down to about 5… I can’t wait to make the final course plan and get started!

/Crossing off the list: teach at the college level. Wee!

Posted in: books