Being green: don’t let the produce go to waste!

Posted on 26.09.2012

2


One thing I have a major issue with is spring onions. Have you ever read a recipe that used spring onions and thought to yourself, ‘goddamnit, I’m NEVER going to use the whole bundle!’? I’m asking because that happens to me all the time. The recipes always only call for one or two of them, and then you’re stuck with like FIVE that end up rotting in your fridge.

Granted, once I’ve bought them, I could make an entire week’s worth of food around them, but that never seems to work out as well as I’d like it to.

So a while ago, I learned to put the mint leaves I’d bought from the store in water, let them sprout roots, and then plant them, in order to get mint plants from scratch and not waste the fricking BOX that I had to buy in order to use a few, since I don’t have a ‘real’ garden. That’s worked out well and I currently have some mint plants that are probably c/o Thailand on the balcony. Awesome. And they’re happy, and that makes me happy, too.

Along those same lines, I realized a while back that I could also put the spring onions in water, to get more mileage out of them. That’s worked well, although I will say that the spring onions tend to fare better when I actually put them in dirt. When I’ve let them sit in water for more than a few days they last and grow, but they also grow algae… ugh.

Carrying right along, I had a similar issue last week when I bought some celery: by the time I got my organic celery back to my house, it was super flimsy and seemed to be wilting.

I had no idea how that was even possible, as I hadn’t even taken it from a refrigerated area… but the lightbulb exploded over my head and I decided to put it in water, right next to the spring onions I’d also bought.

I wasn’t sure if that would help or not, but it seemed to. The celery ‘drank’ the water really quickly, though, so I had to keep an eye on it. In about 3 hours, it was firm again.

Winning!

So the moral of the story: when you buy produce, the best thing you can do in order to keep it lasting longer is to give it some water and let it ‘live’. Granted, you can’t extend the life of things indefinitely, but you can at least normally get the stuff through until the weekend, or whenever you’re ready to eat it!

The first spring onion I put in water last year is actually still alive on the balcony. And it’s really, really happy.

Ciao for now:)

Posted in: being green, food