Books 14 and 15: Paul Arden

Posted on 15.06.2012

0


14. It’s Not How Good You Are, It’s How Good You Want to Be, Paul Arden, June 14

I found this book and its sibling in Weil am Rhein at the Vitra museum, when we visited Claes sculpture 15 two weekends ago. I picked this one up and ordered the other one. I was struck by the small size, beautiful design, and lovely words of design/marketing wisdom that, of course, apply to the rest of my life. To everyone’s lives.

I opened this book to this page: “Do not seek praise. Seek criticism.”

If that’s not a metaphor for life, I don’t know what is. This book is full of great, short little stories and ideas that are a must for any creative, or really anyone who happens to think outside of the box.

*

15. Whatever You Think, Think the OppositePaul Arden, June 14

This is the second book I saw, and ordered when I got home for MUCH less than they were selling it for at the shop.

I opened this book to the “It’s better to regret what you have done than what you have not” page. Which is kind of the story of my life.

I’m happy to have these books, I’ll be happy to make other people read them (even if they’re not in sales or the design fields), and to re-read them later whenever I need a reminder of why I do what I do, and why I live the way I live.

Short books, but my issue this week (month) is that I’m back to driving since René is once again away for work. So no reading on the bus for me. Just reading books from friends whenever I happen to have the time between classes. It’s not so often this week, but I’m looking forward to catching up on my reading over the weekend.

 

Posted in: books