to be loved

Posted on 10.06.2012

0


Yesterday, as I was running around a small town in Germany with my Polaroids, taking photos and trying out new films, my family was on the other side of the Atlantic taking a 50k walk. For me.

This weekend is the annual MS Challenge Walk in the Baltimore/MD area. It consists of two days and 50k. My sister and her friends did the walk, my brother-in-law was a volunteer EMT, and my father and stepmother hosted a rest-stop booth along the way, providing food and drinks to the walkers on the road.

Granted, they didn’t just do it for me. They did it for my mom, for their coworkers, and everyone else in the world with MS. It’s a fundraising walk that, of course, aims to raise funds in order to find a cure to the disease. Do I think there will ever be a cure for MS? No. Do I care? Well, not especially. But it was the thought that counted, and when I lived back in the states, I was there doing the walk with them.

To walk 50k (25k each day) is no small feat. It’s long, it’s hot out there in the summer, and even though you probably feel like a rockstar after day one, day two is grueling by comparison, because by then the soreness of day one’s walk has kicked in. I’m telling you that from experience, not imagination. It is not easy, and it’s not something everyone can do. And my sister has been doing it for at least 5 years.

Steph, Dad and Sandy in the middle. Team ‘Dropkick MS’.

This was one of the photos from yesterday. As I write this, it’s 5:30 am over there, and they’re all probably up and getting ready to begin walking day two.

I can’t express how loved I feel that they continue to do this walk. For me, for everyone. I am so thankful for my family, even if I don’t say it often. I know everyone has their own reasons for doing anything, but I know that in their case, I’m one of those reasons. That is an incredibly amazing feeling. I hope everyone gets to feel that way at least once in their lives. I consider myself extremely lucky: I feel that way often. Even if I don’t write about it.

I love you guys so much. Thank you.

Posted in: life, MS