Added to the music page: La Roux

Posted on 17.04.2012

0


I’m being obnoxious and productive and overloading 50 people’s inboxes. I apologize for that, I’ve just been up for far too long already this morning and want to get shit done!

18. La Roux, La Roux (2009)

I’m not late to the party, I just love love love this effing album. When Elly and Ben came out with this back in ’09 it was THE TITS, and honestly, it still is. They’re still kind of alone on the new-wave/electropop stage, and whatever, that’s fine. Elly’s such a gd individual. Let her have the whole stage.

I’ve been listening to the album since it came out, and it’s a permanent fixture on my iPhone for when I get tired of sampling new music that usually ends up blowing. I can listen to this album at any time of day, straight through: case in point, I totally fell asleep with it the other night in my headphones. That shouldn’t be the case for anything faster than Portishead, but Ellie can do it and I’m happy to have her singing to me when I fall asleep.

I can’t wait for the new album to come out. It’s about time, isn’t it? They’ve been working on it since ’09!I can’t even choose a damn favorite on this album, there are just too many excellent tracks. And Elly is SO hot. It’s like if Tilda Swinton had a hot sister who sang.

Tagged:
Posted in: music