Marc and Angel got me again

Posted on 06.03.2012

1


THIS ONE was a really good one, and I’m glad that I read it tonight.

Number 8 and 9 are quite fitting for me this week and last, as there are things that I’ve been trying to try to do (like picking up Japanese already and actually learning it, doing my US taxes) that I haven’t gotten to. Not because I don’t have the time, I just don’t have the inclination. More to the point, there are other things that I’ve been more inclined to do. Because of this the to-do list keeps growing, and I keep not getting things done. I hate that.

*

8. Inaction. – The acquisition of knowledge doesn’t mean you’re growing; growing happens when what you know changes how you live.  You can’t change anything or make any sort of progress by sitting back and thinking about it.  If you keep doing what you’re doing, you’ll keep getting what you’re getting.  The best time to start is now.

9. The lingering of unfinished business. – There’s nothing more stressful than the perpetual lingering of unfinished business.  Stop procrastinating.  Start taking actionto tie loose ends.  Putting something off instantly makes it harder and scarier.

*

Tonight is a pretty perfect example. I planned to knock out FOUR different blogs between the two sites and be in bed by 11:30, but I ended up skyping with a friend and my dad for a while instead. And now here it is, after midnight. I’m not tired, and I’m writing the first of the four blogs. And honestly, I’m only knocking it out now because they kicked my ass into gear about it.

I’ve taken the last four or so days off from EVERYTHING because I wasn’t feeling well. I wasn’t feeling well because I’m getting older and went out and pretended NOT to be old on Friday night and had a ton of fun, but also, I just haven’t been feeling well or sleeping well, period. So add not eating enough to that, and I was a lump on the couch for most of the weekend, with a side of ‘fucked up the car, rulllll bad’ on Sunday. Yeah, I think I need to sit the rest of the week out. Oh wait, I finally got all of those hours I’ve been needing!! Awesome. Can I please just get back to a normal sleep schedule?

So I didn’t work out today or since Thursday, and I’m ok with that, since I’ve obviously needed a break. Not eating enough was a major issue for me (strength wise and energy wise) and I decided that I shouldn’t work out again until I had this ‘minimum 1200 calories per day’ thing DOWN for more than a few days. But I kind of hate that I haven’t been able to do much in the interim and I don’t want to fall off the wagon. So I’m planning to do SOMETHING tomorrow if I can. In fact, I’m planning to plan my week’s workouts tomorrow based on my final scheduling, which will happen TOMORROW.

So. Ugh. That’s what’s been going on.

Posted in: goals, life