A tribute to yowayowa camera girl: photography

Posted on 04.01.2012

1


You might have seen my post on yowayowa camera a few weeks back, but if you didn’t, you’re going to hear about it again. The idea behind the artist’s work is to be permanently with her feet ‘off the ground’, as it goes against the idea that people who are ‘well adjusted’ always have their feet firmly planted on the ground. What the viewer gets is a series of amazing self-portraits, where the artist appears to be floating or levitating.

I thoroughly appreciate the artist’s openness in talking about her work; she’s mentioned on her own website and in interviews how she takes the photos, which makes it easier for others to try.

As this is my year of trying new things and following my inspiration, I took the opportunity to try to emulate the photos yesterday, when I had something of a ‘photo date’ with my friend Melissa. We’d been talking about getting together and shooting since I moved here, and now that we live in the same village, it’s a lot easier to do this.

So we’d made a plan to meet yesterday, but we didn’t really have anything special to walk around shooting. Then I remembered the yowayowa (which means ‘weak’ or ‘feeble’ in Japanese) photos, sent her a link and told her I’d love to try these.

Thankfully, she agreed, and we got in a good two hours of shooting around our village before we lost light and had to call it an evening.

Here is a composite image of myself and Melissa, c/o Photoshop. I totally love it. I’m really thankful for the tripod I remembered to bring, which made it easy to switch spots with Melissa and do multiples of the same image.

Overall and thinking back, I think that although the overcast winter weather is PERFECT for shooting many things, it would be easier to get these photos during the spring, summer and fall months. Effectively, any time that’s NOT lacking in sunlight.

I say this because of the shutter speed necessary to get these photos: one needs a minimum of 1/500 to capture the motion without too much blur, but 1/1000 would be even better. To even attempt 1/1000, you’d need a bright enough day. Why? Because I personally want EVERYTHING in the photo to be in focus, and that requires a minimum F stop of F11. These were taken somewhere around F5.6, and they look great, but I could have handled a faster shutter speed. And for that we need a bit more light.

I’m not going to complain. If I can do this well in winter with a chilly wind, then these will be a majorly easy to accomplish come spring and summer. It might be kind of excellent to do these at the beach or pool surrounded by people lounging.

To see the whole set on Flickr, go HERE. Enjoy!

Posted in: art