2012 Goals and a look at 2011’s.

Posted on 01.01.2012

2


Happy new year! I hope you enjoyed whatever you did last night, and whoever you were with:)

I haven’t been thinking too much about goals these past few weeks, mostly because I gave myself a little break once the holiday season hit. I’ve done a lot of stuff this year; set and met a lot of smaller goals, and there was a lot on the list that DIDN’T get done.

HERE’S a look at what my goals were last year. I’ve done a pretty good job of getting them accomplished, aside from that whole ‘Cookbook’ idea. I scrapped that, I’m not interested. I saw more of Germany, was mostly fit except for when I wasn’t, I cooked more and made a decision about the TESOL/TEFL. I didn’t find a place to show my art in GERMANY, per se, although it wasn’t for lack of trying. I did start an Etsy site, so I half-accomplished that one.

For 2012, I’ve got some other goals that I want to stick to. And I’m posting them there, as usual, in order to hold myself accountable and to share with whoever feels like reading:)

Learn Japanese
In the spirit of keeping up with things I want to do, this was actually something I wanted to try to start in November and then didn’t have time for. I definitely got better at German and feel MUCH more secure in that language now. But now is the perfect time for me to at least start with Japanese, as I’ll be heading there again in April. I’ll be doing a load of home-/self-study with René, so I don’t expect to be an expert by April. But I do plan to be able to read packages (at least somewhat) and to ask and answer basic questions. I’m hoping to keep doing Japanese all year, but it’ll be a focus from now until April.
*
Write more

I don’t mean here, I think we can all agree that I write more than enough on the blog:) I wrote (am writing) my first short story last week, something that’s been a long time coming. I’ve got 4 more that I want to write, and I’m hoping to be able to do them as well and have a small collection ready for the end of the year. I don’t know what I’ll do with them, but I want to write them out and see where that takes me.
*
Make more
art

There are a lot of things I’ve wanted to draw or collage this year, and I just wasn’t able to get to them. I’m hoping that this year can be the year of me getting back to the things I used to love doing. And now that no one is grading my work, I might make it more often, better and more confidently.

DIY
There were a lot of DIY projects I wanted to try this year and I didn’t get to do them, either. So I want to try more of those projects (esp once we get into wherever it is we’re moving to next) this year. I’m off to a good start so far, today I made a scarf out of an old skirt.
*
Get the TEFL certification
I was originally planning to do this beginning NOW, but then I decided that Japanese was the higher priority. So I’m planning to start with this once I’m back, maybe in the summer or fall semester as my students start to take their vacation time. I can do the entire thing online, so I’m excited about that.
*
Get ‘fixed’
Also something I wanted to do last year, but didn’t have the time or funds lying around for, it will definitely happen after Japan. I was thinking it would be smart to do this at the hottest part of the summer, since I won’t be able to train for a few weeks afterwards… so it’ll be good to force myself not to try during those weeks. I’m hoping to make this coincide with the TEFL cert, since I’ll have a lot of nights sitting around while René’s at training to myself. 120 hours will go by really fast, I think!
*
Travel more for myself/us
I spent a lot of the last year taking people around the parts of Germany I’ve already been to. This year, although that will also happen, I want to make sure to utilize the train more and to travel around to the places I want to see, whether alone or with René/friends. I’m also hoping to just do more traveling and things, period. In general.
*
More fitness, but
with a stipulation. Two actually:
First: be nice to myself about what I can and can’t handle doing. I am really too hard on myself when I can’t get to a workout, and that doesn’t make me want to do it afterwards!

Second: Focus more on my martial art. I’ve been meaning to really dedicate myself to studying more, and just haven’t. So I’m hoping to be able to do that this year.
*

Those are the steady goals for the year. I’m also planning a few things, such as the year of self-study and Shakespeare reading, which I’ll be writing about:) There are some other websites in the works, too, but I’ll write more about them once they’re up and running.

I think 2012 is going to be a great year. I’m excited. I hope you are, too! I’d love to read what your goals are for the upcoming year!!

