Year 2011, Book 49: Fight Club, Chuck Palahniuk (dec 27)

Posted on 27.12.2011

3


Yes, I DID read this book in about one day. And honestly, this was such a nice difference to the movie. I love that there are things that the movie put more weight on, like Bob and Jared’s character, but I love how the book worked things out, and the things that we missed in the film or that were rearranged for time or storyline management.

This book was amazing to read, and of course I saw the movie first. I’m almost glad that I saw the movie first, because I spent the entire book hearing Edward Norton, and that’s NEVER a bad thing. I had images of people in my head and it made the story move a little faster, a little smoother than they do when I have to stop and imagine things on my own. I’m not saying that I enjoy being lazy, just that that stuff often takes time and brain power. Yes, read this book. Absolutely, yes.

I have to say that my favorite part of the book was the new afterword written by Chuck himself. In it, he describes how the concept and idea for Fight Club came out of an exercise on a lazy, bored afternoon and was at first, just a short story.

I hadn’t written about it yet, but I was just thinking to myself tonight that I’m going to try to use the next week and a half that I’ve got doing mostly nothing to try to knock out one or more of the short stories that are sitting in a book, waiting to be fleshed out. So reading that Chuck started this effing masterpiece as a short story was kind of JUST what I needed to read tonight, before going to bed and waking up in the morning for a day’s or week’s worth of writing.

So, thanks for that, Chuck P., I appreciate your reaffirming new afterword that’s gone into the new publications of the book.

Posted in: books