Logical List of Saturday Priorities?

Posted on 05.11.2011

0


Good morning and happy Saturday! I’m really happy it’s Saturday, it means I can relax… or not. Maybe it just means I don’t have to work, or teach, or speak English, or whatever. But here I am, writing in English. The German blogs will come later, ok?!

The first thing I do every morning, and I’m ashamed to say this, is to check my messages on my phone. I don’t necessarily read them, it’s more about seeing what came in while I was asleep, since the majority of my friends and family live in a different time zone than GMT+1 (I think mine is called ‘Western Europe’?).

I do this while laying in bed, or sitting on the toilet, which is the first thing I do once I get out of bed, since I generally wake up because I have to pee. But before I get out of bed, I sit up and crack my back. No joke. I’ve been doing this since I realized that I wake up every morning with lower back pain. Sitting up and cracking my back totally fixes that. So I lay in bed, look at the mail that came in, sit up, crack my back, get up and go to the bathroom, where I’ll sit on the toilet and read the most recent stuff on FB. This is sometimes the ONLY time I read FB in a day, so I allow it. Then, if something pressing came up or in during the night, I’ll jump on the computer and respond to it.

And that’s the part of my day that I’m on right now. I didn’t really start writing to talk about that, it’s more to talk about what I need to do today, and the order I should do it in.

The main points of my day are that I need to hit the grocery store and I need to shower before some friends from German class come over. We’re going to go to the Handball game tonight:) So those are the important things. Along with this, I should probably clean and get some stuff done, like watering my plants, German homework, some baking, etc. I also want to go biking or walking at some point.

So I was sitting here thinking about the ORDER that I should do that stuff in. Ultimately, I need to shower last, since some of these things require getting dirty or sweating. So that makes my list like this:

Clean house
Work out
Shower

But then I got to thinking… I can’t clean the house until after I’ve done my baking, since baking always makes a mess. And I can water the plants as part of cleaning. I should do the German hw after the cleaning. But I also have to do some laundry!!! That can happen during the German Hw and cleaning…That makes the list looks like this:

Bake
Clean House, Laundry
German Hw
Water Plants
Work out
Shower

But oh shit, I need to go grocery shopping, too. I’d prefer to do that AFTER I shower, hoping there’s time. I don’t need a lot from the store, so I would prefer to do it later in the day when there are fewer people out shopping. So that has to go to the end of the list (I think). And now the list looks like this:

Bake
Clean House, Laundry
German Hw
Water Plants
Work out
Shower
Grocery shopping

I guess I should get started on all of that, if I want to get to other things, like my freelance work. And I forgot to mention that I need to do my nails. That only ever happens AFTER a shower…

Bake
Clean House, Laundry
German Hw
Water Plants
Work out
Shower
Nails
Grocery shopping
Freelance

So that’s my plan for today. I think it’s logical. How do you plan your chores? Am I the only one that ONLY does my nails after a shower, or ONLY showers AFTER cooking/baking?

Posted in: life