A question of priorities, or a question of interests?

Posted on 12.09.2011

0


I woke up this morning to a flood of posts about a football game. I hate fucking football and never enjoy the football season, as it means that I should probably just block the posts from about half of my friends list on Facebook. I love being over here, where no one is so batshit crazy about their teams (even though they are, they are quietly, rather than all over my friends feed and the daily news).

I noticed that about 80-90% of the people who had posted about football had also posted some cheeseball ‘never forget’ message yesterday. And this made me think.

One of my friends posted a status update on FB the other day and said something along the lines of ‘no, I’m not interested in playing your farm or jewel games, they only distract from all that is going on in the world around us, and I want to live and enjoy my life rather than spend it distracted by some stupid game’.

I wonder if anyone has thought, yet, about doing some sort of poll. A poll of the American people. I’d like to know how the percentage of people who know the name Ben Rothlisberger stacks up against the percentage of people who know the name Mahmoud Ahmadinejad.

I wonder, past knowing these names, how many people could discuss in detail why each of them is known, what they do, etc. Because I bet more Americans probably know the first name than the second, and until we start knowing more about the world, I imagine people are going to keep thinking that what happened a decade ago was unwarranted.

I’m not against having a hobyy. But I am starting to see a direct correllation between what my friend said about computer games and the games people play in the real world, and how that relates to our knowledge of the outside world.

Posted in: life